Thursday, September 8, 2011

1981-Fire Escape In The Sky


Released in 1981 Fire Escape In The Sky is a collection of Scott Walker songs compiled by Julian Cope, the lead singer of The Teardrop Explodes.  The songs featured are from Scott's first five albums, all of which were out of print and somewhat difficult to find at the time this record was released. Fire Escape in the Sky did much to revive interest in Walker and played a crucial role in the critical reevaluation of his importance in the early 1980's.

In direct contrast to the Scott Walker record I posted last week, the focus here is on Walker's own compositions. This collection was quite deliberately compiled and designed by Cope to remove Scott from any MOR context so that the post-punk crowd (check the stark gray cover) could appreciate his "Godlike Genius".  I don't own this record and I don't think it has ever been issued on CD, but I've placed the tracks in the correct running order so that the reader can get an idea of another important side of Scott's career and how context-specifically packaging and sequencing in the case of records- can do so much to shape the impact and import of music.

Side One:
1. Such a Small Love
2. Big Louise
3. Little Things
4. Plastic Palace People
5. Girls From the Streets
6. It's Raining Today

Side Two:
7. Seventh Seal
8. The Amorous Humphrey Plugg
9. Angels of Ashes
10. Boychild
11. Montague Terrace (In Blue)
12. Always Coming Back to You

No comments:

Post a Comment